日本和泰国之间实现了快速而便捷的国际汇款

Image: Shutterstock

感谢日本SBI Remit公司,泰国的暹罗商业银行(SCB)以及Ripple公司,在日本的45000名泰国居民可以更快地汇款回家了。

日本和泰国之间的国际汇款量一直稳定增长并且目前已经达到大约每年两亿五千七百万美元[1]的汇款量。然而现有的汇款机制却没有跟上客户需求的增长。款项的传递至少要两天时间,手续费占每笔金额的百分之五到百分之七[2],而且无法预计每笔款项何时实际到达收款人帐户。

SBI Remit和SCB把这个问题转化成了为客户提供价值的机会,同时制造了一个每年一千万美元到一千五百万美元的新的创收机会。

这项服务于今日正式推出。它是Ripple完成的第一个汇款服务的商业化应用。SBI Remit的客户在日本可以实时付日元到SCB在泰国的收款人帐户,收款人几秒钟内就可以收到款项。

SCB的首席战略主管Arak Sutivong博士说:“我们非常自豪地成为了亚洲第一家运用Ripple先进的区块链网络技术为我们的客户提供实时支付服务的银行,这些客户的家庭非常需要用这些款项来维持生计,因此时效性对他们来说非常重要。”

SBI Remit公司的CEO安藤伸生先生说:“为了给我们的客户提供不断提升的汇款服务,我们有责任去不断追寻更好的技术解决方案。从这个角度来看,Ripple不仅在概念上令人印象深刻而且在实际应用方面更加引人注目。与此同时,随着Ripple网络的扩展,我们可以期待拥有更多有利的外汇交易机会。因此,我们欢迎更多的机构加入和帮助我们,从而为我们所珍视的客户提供相对于传统支付手段更受欢迎且具有竞争力的汇款服务。”

长远看来,该项服务会在SCB的其他重要市场包括北美,欧洲和亚太地区相继正式推出。

在Ripple,我们非常期待与积极争取新机会为客户解决付款难题的创新型银行合作。联系我们来了解如何联系其他使用Ripple技术的银行。


[1]来源:世界银行
[2]来源:世界银行

It’s Now Faster and Easier to Send Money Between Japan and Thailand

Image: Shutterstock

Thanks to SBI Remit, Siam Commercial Bank (SCB) and Ripple, 45,000 Thai nationals living in Japan can send money home faster.

Remittance flows between Japan and Thailand have been steadily growing and currently make up roughly $250 million[1] USD annually. Yet, the remittance infrastructure hasn’t kept up with customer needs. Funds transfers can take up to two days, fees average a whopping 5-7%[2] for each transaction, and there is no visibility into when funds actually arrive.

SBI Remit and SCB turned this problem into an opportunity to add value to their customers while also creating a new revenue opportunity estimated at $10-15 million per year.

The rollout of the service begins today. It’s the first commercially-available remittance service powered by Ripple. Those who use SBI Remit in Japan can instantly send money in JPY to a recipient’s SCB savings account in Thailand and receive funds in seconds.

Dr. Arak Sutivong, chief strategy officer, SCB, said: “We are proud to be the first bank in Asia to use Ripple’s leading blockchain network solution to power real-time payments for our customers, whose families oftentimes depend on the availability of these funds for basic needs – time is of the essence to them.”

Mr. Nobuo Ando representative director, SBI Remit Co., Ltd. said: “It is our duty to continuously search for superior technological solutions to deliver ever improved remittance services for our customers. In this case, Ripple was impressive in concept and turned out to be more so in practice. Furthermore, we can expect to have more favorable foreign exchange opportunities as Ripple’s network expands. For this, we welcome more institutions to join and help us offer competitive remittance services over conventional methods to our valued customers.”

Over the long-term, the service will also be available in SCB’s other key markets across North America, Europe and Asia Pacific.

At Ripple, we are thrilled to work with innovative banks who are embracing new opportunities to solve payment challenges for their customers. Contact us to see how to connect with other Ripple-enabled banks.

[1]Source: World Bank
[2]Source: World Bank